Nine receive awards at Chamber’s 2019 Annual Awards Night

Small Business of the Year: Above & Beyond - Just For You

Ambassador of the Year: Allison Powers (Photo by Austin Blankenship, Appalachian News-Express)

Outstanding Contribution by an Organization or Business: Appalachian Hospice Care

Citizen of the Year: Debby Bailey

Junior Williamson Memorial East Kentucky Ambassador: Les Stapleton

Business of the Year: PurLux Spa & Salon

Business Person of the Year: Tom Wright

Service Organization of the Year: WestCare Kentucky

2019 Lon B. & Mary Evelyn Rogers Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. William C. Hambley

Pikeville, KY (August 26, 2019) – Nine businesses, organizations, and individuals received awards during the Southeast Kentucky Chamber of Commerce’s 2019 Annual Awards Night presented by Community Trust Bank and held at the Appalachian Wireless Arena in Pikeville on Thursday, August 22.

In addition to honoring those nine winners during the banquet, the Chamber also recognized its 2019-2020 board of directors, presented a check for $71,000 to the Shriners from the 2019 Hillbilly Days festival, and graduated 23 leaders who completed Patton Leadership Institute.

The Chamber’s nine award winners included: Tom Wright (Business Person of the Year), Debby Bailey (Citizen of the Year), Appalachian Hospice Care (Outstanding Contribution by an Organization or Business), Allison Powers (Ambassador of the Year), PurLux Spa & Salon (Business of the Year), Above & Beyond – Just for You (Small Business of the Year), WestCare Kentucky (Service Organization of the Year), Dr. William C. Hambley (2019 Lon B. & Mary Evelyn Rogers Lifetime Achievement Award), and Les Stapleton (Junior Williamson Memorial East Kentucky Ambassador).

“The Chamber is honored to present these individuals and business with the awards that they deserve,” said Jordan Gibson, Southeast Kentucky Chamber president and CEO. “It’s important that those who are working hard every day to make our region a better place to live and work are recognized for their contributions, and we are happy to be able to help make that happen.”

Patton Leadership Institute is the Southeast Kentucky Chamber’s leadership development program, named after Kentucky Gov. Paul E. Patton and Judi Patton. Throughout the program, leaders from local businesses partake in a nine-month program beginning each October during which they travel across the region (one day per month) learning what the region has to offer and participating in leadership activities and discussions.

The 23 individuals who graduated from Patton Leadership Institute Thursday evening include: Linda Bevins (AEP – Kentucky Power), Carla Branham (Big Sandy Community & Technical College), Tivis Caudill (Food City), Jennifer Chaffin (Jigsaw Enterprises), Leanne Coleman (TransAmerica Network), Elaina Calhoun Cooley (Big Sandy Health Care), Tyler Crum (Peoples Bank), Bridget Evans (Community Trust Bank), Jordan Hampton (Gearheart Communications), Mike Hatfield (AEP – Kentucky Power), Antoinette Justice (University of Pikeville), Jonathan Keeton (Fast Change Lube & Oil), Eilene Kinzer (University of Pikeville), Tyler Kroon (University of Pikeville), Natasha McGlothlin (US Bank), Mary Moore (University of Pikeville), Lisa Music (Big Sandy Community & Technical College), Waylon Nelson (Appalachian Wireless), Benjamin Profitt (Food City), Ed Sorrell  (Fast Change Lube & Oil), Samuel Sproles (Food City), Ryan Stratton (Baird & Baird), and Tina Terry (Big Sandy Community & Technical College).

Patton Leadership Institute is sponsored by Food City, Appalachian Wireless, Fast Change Lube & Oil, Kentucky Power, and the University of Pikeville. Applications for the 2019-2020 class are due by September 16 and can be found at

The evening included a buffet meal prepared by the Appalachian Wireless Arena’s Elite Catering, a reception sponsored by Dueling Barrels Brewery & Distillery, and each award recipient was featured in a short video prepared by bt Media Group prior to the acceptance of their award.

Sponsors for this year’s awards night included: Community Trust Bank, Appalachian Wireless, Mountain Top Media, University of Pikeville, and Walters Auto Group.

For more information about the Chamber, visit them online at,, or by phone at, 606.432.5504.

The Southeast Kentucky Chamber of Commerce is located at 178 College Street, Pikeville, and serves more than 500 businesses in eight Eastern Kentucky Counties: Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, and Pike. The Chamber’s mission is to be a resource for businesses in Southeast Kentucky that is committed to improving the regional economy.